D4D INDEX

Introduction
Background
2nd Stakeholder Workshop
Members
 
News about D4D

DOCUMENT REPOSITORY

Note: This repository is only accessible by D4D Google Drive members.

Members (April 2013)

AARINENA  (Association of Agricultural Research Institutions in the Near East and North Africa)
Ibrahim  Hamdan     i.hamdan@cgiar.org
Eltahir Ibrahim         eltahir81@yahoo.com
 
APAARI   (Asia-Pacific Association of Agricultural Research Institutions)
Bhag Mal                b.mal@apaari.org
Raj Paroda              raj.paroda@apaari.org
 
AVRDC (The World Vegetable Centre)        
Andreas Ebert         andreas.ebert@worldveg.org     
Jacqueline Hughes   jackie.hughes@worldveg.org
 
Bioversity International 
Stefan Weise          s.weise@cgiar.org
Stefano Padulosi     s.padulosi@cgiar.org
 
CFF  (Crops for the Future)  
Michael Hermann*    m.hermann@cropsforthefuture.org
 
CIRAD (Centre de coopération internationale en recherche agronomique pour le développement)
Remi Kahane            remi.kahane@cirad.fr
    
FARA  (Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa)
Adewale Adekunle     aadekunle@fara-africa.org
 
GFAR SECRETARIAT  (Global Forum on Agricultural Research)
Mark Holderness       mark.holderness@fao.org
Harry Palmier*         harry.palmier@fao.org
 
GlobalHort   (Global Horticulture Initiative)     
Detlef Virchow         dvirchow@globalhort.org
Norman Looney *     norman.looney@agr.gc.ca
 
INBAR  (International Network for Bamboo and Rattan)
Coosje Hoogendoorn* choogendoorn@inbar.int
Manoj Nadkarni          mnadkarni@inbar.int
 
ITPGRFA  (International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture)           
Shakeel Bhatti          shakeel.bhatti@fao.org
 
PAR (Platform for Agrobiodiversity Research)
Paul Bordoni             p.bordoni@cgiar.org
Toby Hodgkin*          t.hodgkin@cgiar.org
 
Prolinnova         
Laurens van Veldhuizen   l.van.veldhuizen@etcnl.nl
Ann Waters-Bayer           waters-bayer@web.de
 
PROTA   (Plant Resources of Tropical Africa)            
Enoch Achigan-Dako       enoch.achigandako@gmail.com
 
*Advisory  Committee
 

DIVERSITY FOR DEVELOPMENT ALLIANCE (D4D)


D4D

Introduction

 In July 2011, GFAR commissioned through GlobalHort, an international Initiative with a broad array of partner organizations, having also its Secretariat at FAO, a study to document the importance of under-utilized plants and crops for achieving smallholders agro-ecosystem sustainability in addressing the MDGs. This scientific report was used to make the case for DOCs (Development Opportunity Crops) at the CGIAR Science Forum in Beijing (October 17-19, 2011). It has been transformed into a policy brief for sensitizing policy makers and investors.

Following the second international workshop for the promotion of agrobiodiversity through development opportunity crops, held at FAO, Rome, 10-11 January 2012, organized by GlobalHort and supported by GFAR, GlobalHort facilitated the resolutions coming out and agreed on by all participants collaborating in a Diversity for Development Alliance (D4D).  This Alliance has resulted in a review article that has been published in the journal Agronomy for Sustainable Development.

Article title: Agrobiodiversity for food security, health and income
DOI: 10.1007/s13593-013-0147-8
Editorial manuscript number: ASDE-D-12-00143.1
Authors: Remi Kahane, Toby Hodgkin, Hannah Jaenicke, Coosje Hoogendoorn, Michael Hermann, Dyno Keatinge, Jacqueline d'Arros Hughes, Stefano Padulosi and Norman Looney.

Background

The Development Opportunity Crops Network (DOC Net) was one outcome of a January 20-21, 2011 Workshop convened in Rome by the Global Forum for Agricultural Research (GFAR) and the Secretariat of the International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (ITPGRFA). An Opportunity existed for collective actions involving GlobalHort, Crops for the Future, the Non-Timber Forest Products Partnership, Bioversity International, the Global Crop Diversity Trust, and others. These partners share the vision that encouraging and facilitating the cultivation and marketing of a greater diversity of high value specialty crops, both indigenous and exotic, can significantly improve incomes and health of the rural poor. They also point to the important environmental services provided and to the ‘preservation through use’ of valuable plant genetic resources.

GlobalHort Board Chair, Norman Looney, helped to craft a manifesto for this kind of Collective Action. It was agreed that GFAR would provide the required leadership and coordination, noting that the promotion of High-Value Specialty Plants such as horticultural crops could make an important contribution to the GFAR effort to connect, inform, and identify priority issues for the global community of professionals engaged in agri-cultural and socio-economic research for development. Dr. Looney observed that GlobalHort can contribute importantly to ensuring that high-value specialty plants and crops receive the attention deserved within the context of reducing poverty and improving food and nutrition security of smallholders.  

An article was written in the January 2012 issue of New Agriculturist entitled "Realising the benefits of enhanced Agrobiodiversity" by: Norman Looney (The Global Horticulture Initiative), J. Coosje Hoogendoorn (INBAR), Jackie Hughes (AVRDC), Remi Kahane (The Global Horticulture Initiative), Michael Hermann (Crops for the Future), Dyno Keatinge (AVRDC) and Harry Palmier (AVRDC)

Documents (PDFs)

Development opportunity crops and species (DOCS): strategy, action plan, and integrated R4D programme.  A discussion paper prepared by Ralf Kwaschik.

GFAR Agrobiodiversity flyer

 

2nd Stakeholder Workshop Met in Rome January 10-11, 2012 to discuss the way forward

 

 

DOCNet Rome Jan. 2012

 The program, participants, minutes and conclusions of the meeting.

 The following presentations were given: